ORIGINS

GENUINELY UNBELIEVABLE

When the agricultural engineer Alfonso Scherer travelled to Argentina in 1926, he wanted to cultivate the mate plant. In doing so, he laid the foundations for an entire city.

CULTIVATION

GENUINELY RESISTANT

The seeds of the mate plant are so hard that untreated they will not germinate. This mystery was solved by the Jesuits in the 17th century. The mate seed was eaten by birds and excreted. Only then could the hard seed sprout be planted. For hundreds of years, the only mate available was gathered by the Guaraní from wild growing mate trees. Mate can now finally be cultivated.

 

ZURICH

GENUINELY ADVENTUROUS

Today each sip of PUERTO MATE® Tereré brings with it the taste of adventure, because PUERTO MATE® has what others can only dream of: a real story! The story begins far away from Argentina, in Zurich, Switzerland, with a professor, author and specialist in subtropical and tropical global commercially valuable plants named Andreas Sprecher von Bernegg. In 1923, von Barnegg received the teaching assignment for tropical agriculture at the agricultural department of ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich). His enthusiasm for agricultural crops and mate tea in particular inspired his students, including a certain Alfonso Scherer. During a round of mate tea, the professor planted the idea of cultivating the plant in South America in Scherer’s head.

ARGENTINA

GENUINE FOUNDING FATHERS

In 1926, Alfonso Scherer, now an agricultural engineer, joined other Swiss scientist to embark on a research expedition for a company that had purchased large quantities of land in South America and was now looking for people to cultivate the land. On September 26th, 1926, they landed in the Argentine province of Misiones, and together with Paraguayan agricultural workers founded the settlement of Puerto Esperanza in the middle of the jungle. At the plantation of Alfonso Scherer, which is still family-owned and produces our mate, they began to put their goal into action: the cultivation of the mate plant.

HER­KUNFT

ECHT UNGLAUBLICH.

Als der Agraringenieur Alfonso Scherer im Jahr 1926 nach Argentinien reiste, wollte er eigentlich nur die Mate-Pflanze kultivieren. Ganz nebenbei legte er dabei den Grundstein für eine ganze Stadt.

ANBAU

ECHT WIDERSTANDS­­FÄHIG.

Die Samenkörner der Mate-Pflanze sind so hart, dass sie unbehandelt im Boden nicht keimen können. Ein Rätsel, dass erst die Jesuiten im 17. Jahrhundert lösen konnten. So muss die Frucht erst den Verdauungsapparat eines Vogels passieren, damit der Keimling die harte Schale durchbrechen kann. Wurde Mate Jahrhunderte lang durch die die Guaraní von wild wachsenden Bäumen geerntet, konnte sie nun endlich kultiviert werden.

 

ZÜRICH

ECHT ABENTEUER­LICH.

Wer heute PUERTO MATE® Tereré trinkt, den begleitet bei jedem Schluck auch ein wenig der Geschmack von Abenteuer. Denn PUERTO MATE® hat das zu bieten, wovon andere nur träumen können: eine echte Geschichte! Und die beginnt nicht etwa in Argentinien, sondern in Zürich – mit einem Professor namens Andreas Sprecher von Bernegg. Der Autor und Spezialist für tropische und subtropische Weltwirtschaftspflanzen erhielt 1923 den Lehrauftrag für tropische Agrikultur an der landwirtschaftlichen Abteilung der ETH Zürich. Seine Begeisterung für Agrarpflanzen und Mate Tee im Besonderen übertrug sich auch auf seine Studenten, unter denen sich auch ein gewisser Alfonso Scherer befand. Diesem setzte der Professor bei einer Runde Mate-Tee die Idee in den Kopf, die Pflanze in Südamerika selbst anzubauen.

ARGENTINIEN

ECHTE GRÜNDERVÄTER.

Im Jahr 1926 schloss Alfonso Scherer, mittlerweile Agraringenieur, sich mit weiteren Schweizern der Unternehmung einer Firma an, die große Mengen Land in Südamerika erworben hatte und nun auf der Suche nach Leuten war, die dieses Land bewirtschaften. Am 25. September landeten sie in der Argentinischen Provinz Misiones und gründeten gemeinsam mit paraguayischen Landarbeitern die Siedlung Puerto Esperanza inmitten des Urwaldes. Auf der Farm von Alfonso Scherer – die auch heute noch in Familienbesitz ist und unseren Mate produziert – begannen sie, ihr Ziel in die Tat umzusetzen: Die Kultivierung der Mate Pflanze.